Sacraments: Baptism and Catholic Church Essay

All people who believe in Jesus and God want to be able to enter the kingdom of God. But you can’t just enter the kingdom without first completing some so-called requirements. To be able to enter the kingdom you have to have faith and do works. With the works you have to do you also have to receive some sacraments. A sacrament is efficacious signs of grace, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, by which divine life is dispensed to us. There are seven sacraments that the Catholic Church believes in.

They are Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist, Penance of Reconciliation, Anointing of the sick, Holy order, and Matrimony. Those who receive these sacraments are able to enter the kingdom of God and also its proof to one’s initiation into the Christian faith. The Catholic Church recognizes Baptism as first and basic sacrament of Christian initiation. When someone is baptized he or she is submerged in water while the pastor recites a quote from the book of Matthew. Baptism signifies the person being accepted into their faith and also that the person accepts Jesus and god as their lord and savior.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Baptism symbolizes the washing away of sin, mostly the original sin, which says humans are more attractive to evil rather than good. The second sacrament recognized by the Catholic Church is Confirmation. It is also the second step of the Christian initiation. Confirmation calls for the person to be anointed with chrism, which is just mixture of oil and balsam. Confirmation signifies your acceptance into your faith confirms and strengthens your baptismal grace. The third sacrament recognized by the Catholic Church is The Eucharist, which is also called the most Blessed Sacrament.

Some say that this is sacrament completes a person’s Christian initiation. The Eucharist is the partaking of the Body and Blood of Jesus. Besides the seven sacraments there are also other things considered as sacraments. Love, forgiveness, and acceptance can also be seen as sacraments. And I see these sacraments just as important as the other seven, but these three play a bigger role within our lives. These play the biggest role because almost everyday people are faced with situations that involve these sacraments. Also, because God gave us the ability to be able to love, forgives, and accepts one another.


I'm Tamara!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out